Out On A Limb CSA – 3rd Share

This is my third of a share from the 3rd delivery of the Out On A Limb CSA. Eight varieties of apples this time – the most yet. 
Clockwise from top: Cox’s Orange Pippin, Wolf River, Nodhead, Wagener, Pomme Grise, Whitefield, Westfield-Seek-No-Further. (I think. I made careful notes and am still confused. I am eating the one pictured far right, and it’s delicious. But I have no idea what variety it is.) 
The last share was made into a crisp using Grandy Oat granola in the topping. Just mix with a little brown sugar, butter, flour, and spices and sprinkle over sugar, lemon juice coated apples. The mix of apples created not only complex flavors, but was a nice mix of textures too (some broke down, some stayed in chunks). 
I am impressed with people’s (seemingly Mainers’) ability to remember which apples are good for what. I need a crisp, tart variety for this recipe? I have no idea. Some people up here are all, oh, you need Jonah Gold. Um, OK. Good on ya. 
This entry was posted in apples, CSA, fall, fruit, local eating, Out On A Limb. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

