Poutine Files: Little Tap House and Blue Rooster Food Co.

Do you want the good news first or the bad news? I like to end on a happy note, so we’ll have to start, unfortunately, at Little Tap House.
My first look at LTH was promising – but the poutine fell short. Namely, lacking in cheese curds (there are a few? by the fork?) and covered in beef brisket and au jus. No. I need gravy. 
I feel terrible condemning this, as LTH is a lovely place. But this “Why Can’t Americans Get Poutine Right” rant covers it with #3. America tries to “improve” upon poutine. NO. 

The fries were good, and I look forward to trying them plain next to a burger (which was voted the best pub-style burger in Maine by Eater Maine readers). But I will continue my search for the best poutine in Portland.

Bayside Bowl is officially too late to the party, after months of gently suggesting *ahem* that they serve totine or tater tot poutine, now that Blue Rooster Food Co. has beaten them to the punch. 
I was surprised to not love totine as much as I imagined I would. I think soggy tots failed me – gravy-logged fries are great, but it fails to transfer to tots. That aside, this was really stellar. Dispatch Magazine writer Conner Tubbs says it best: “Tater tot poutine. Boom. Mind freak… I died. You’re gonna die guys. It’s so good.”
I was more like, yeah, yeah, this is good. I can eat this (oh god, can I really eat this?), I’m doing it, I’m eating it. I ate it, I need a nap. 
Stay tuned! Still looking! Right meow, Hot Suppa! is the poutine to beat. 
This entry was posted in Blue Rooster Food Co, eating out, Little Tap House, poutine, restaurants, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

