Garbage Cookies

After my failed attempt at recreating the finicky momofuku compost cookies, I concluded that it’d be much easier to take your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe and just add a bunch of your favorite snack foods and candy.

So when I told someone I was doing so, they exclaimed, you’re making garbage cookies!  So apparently it’s like, a thing.  And I’m a little late to the party.

These cookies aren’t too ‘garbage-y’ (er, yum); in addition to chocolate chips, I added peanut butter M&Ms and crushed pretzels.  I was after that sweet-salty combo I love so much.

The cookies baked up perfectly after 12 minutes, and while at first I thought they tasted a little ‘baking soda-y,’ after a few days, that flavor seems to have evened out.  (Tip: if you’re bringing baked goods to someone and think there’s a flaw, don’t point it out before they try them!  Chances are they won’t notice.)

And I followed a tip I never have before- I froze extra portioned out dough!  Now I can have cookies on demand.  My favorite trick being to half cook them and serve them warm with vanilla ice cream.  Yum.

This entry was posted in baking, better with bacon, chocolate, comfort food, cookies, dessert, holidays, sugar high. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

